MotorCities National Heritage Area logo

November 16, 2023

Last week at its 25th Anniversary Gala at Ford House in Grosse Pointe Shores, MotorCities National Heritage Area announced the winners of their 25th Anniversary Awards of Excellence:

In the Heritage Tourism category, the recipient was Lloyd Ganton, operator of Ye Ole Carriage Shop in Spring Arbor.

In the Education/Interpretation category, the recipient was the Automotive Hall of Fame in Dearborn for their Achievement series of exhibits about African Americans in the automotive industry.

In the Revitalization category, the recipient was the Ford Piquette Plant Museum in Detroit for their first-floor restoration.

Also, the recipient of MotorCities Milestone Award, was William R. "Bill" Chapin. He was a founder of MotorCities and was there when the Automobile National Heritage Area Act was signed by President Clinton in 1998. He signed the articles of incorporation, served as board chair and continues as a member of MotorCities' Leadership Council. Finally, between 2010 and 2017, Chapin served as President of the Automotive Hall of Fame in Dearborn.

In addition, a Champion Award was given to U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow for her support of MotorCities over the years, but in particular for her introduction and championing of the National Heritage Area Act in Congress, which was signed into law earlier this year.

Visit Detroit
 was the Presenting Sponsor for the Gala. General Motors was a Founding Partner/Award of Excellence Sponsor. The UAW International Union was the Michigan Auto Heritage Day Sponsor. Ford House was an Award of Excellence Sponsor. Supporting Sponsors included Albert Kahn AssociatesChoose LansingDestination Ann Arbor, and The Henry Ford. Event Sponsors included Doeren MayhewDon Nicholson EnterprisesGilmore Car MuseumGrigg Graphics, and Project Arts and Ideas. Dore Productions was an In-Kind Sponsor.